Review: Bohemia @ Marsa Malaz Kempinski (Pearl-Qatar, Doha)

I do see a lot of potential in this place, but it is far from being actualized. The ambiance is great. I love the backlit walls with faux-wallpaper designs and the comfortable leather chairs. The beer selection is OK, but at QR 45 per 330ml bottle I’d be expecting to get a draft and not a bottle.

But no big deal, I get that this is supposed to be known for being a cocktail bar. Unfortunately, the cocktails are hit or miss. Ordered a Moscow Mule and Caipirinha. Both rely on simple syrup or muddled sugar. Neither contained any sweetener until they were sent back. When they came back they tasted like they should. But at QR75 a cocktail I was expecting to get it right the first time.

The most disappointing part of the experience was the service. It wasn’t always bad, it was just very inconsistent. Either there were three people coming by one after another, or it was a desert with no one around. A gentleman immediately left us a menu, then came back 15 minutes later to get an order, which took another 15 minutes, etc. But at the end of the evening I waited 20 minutes for my last drink and bill, after asking three different people to check on it for me. Then my drink came (by the way, this was a bottle of beer, just needed the top popped), but no check. So I waited another 15 minutes for the check. The lady who dropped if off tried to escape, but I had my card ready. So 15 minutes later a different guy comes out and says we need to all go to the lobby to run my card because the card machine was broken. That all would have been fine, but honestly the place wasn’t that busy. It shouldn’t have taken so long to get to that point.

I want this place to be great. I want to want to come here all the time for a nightcap. But it’s not that great. It’s too expensive, the beers are disappointing (at least get Stella on draft), the cocktails are meh, and the service is hit or miss (more often miss). Maybe the service is bad because everyone covers the whole bar all the time? I don’t know. But if I had one dedicated server that treated me right (which I did, every fourth time someone came by), I’d want to tip them well. At the end of the night, I just wanted to get the heck out of there.

Edit: They do have a happy hour now (5-8 daily), but still no draft beers. It’s a step in the right direction. Once they get Stella on tap, I can see this becoming one of my haunts.

RATED: 3.5/5

Bohemia - Marsa Malaz Kempinski Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

