Review: Habanos @ The Ritz-Carlton (Westbay, Doha)

I love this place. It’s one of my regular haunts. They have Stella on tap (if you have read my other reviews, you would know that this is a litmus test), and the staff is incredibly competent and attentive. The happy hour here is one of the best and most predictable in the city. QR20 for a pint of Stella, 5-8, everyday.

At 8pm a Spanish-language cover band plays. If not every night, then almost every night. I really enjoy them. Most nights the place is pretty quiet, but on weekend nights when the Salsa dancing community comes out, this place gets bumping.

The ambiance is old-school cigar bar. Leather everything, dimly lit, picture of Fidel Castro on the wall. They have an extensive cigar collection, and there is a large outside seating area for those looking to take in the night air.

In terms of food, they have a happy hour menu that isn’t really very exciting to me. I’ve tried several things off of it. The standouts for me are the shortrib sliders and the calamari rings. However, if you ask nicely they’ll bring you a full menu from the adjoining restaurant. If I’m eating there, I go for the old standby: cheeseburger and fries. Freshly ground patties, well prepared. Never been disappointed. I’ve seen other types of sandwiches floating around on occasion that looked pretty tasty, but I’m a simple man who likes what he likes, haha.

That being said, this isn’t really a place for food. You can get some good food if you ask, but this is really a place for beverages and conversation. One of my top choices in the city. I hope no one reads this review and comes, haha. I’d be sad to lose my oasis.

RATED: 5/5

Habanos - The Ritz-Carlton Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

