Review: Admiral’s Club @ The Ritz-Carlton (Westbay, Doha)

I love the Admiral’s Club. It is one of my regular haunts. The staff is attentive, friendly, and competent. The menu is pretty extensive. It is pub food, nothing too fancy, but everything I have had is solid. Their burgers are really, really good. Other standouts are the chicken wings and the nachos. The fries (my go-to pub snack) are excellent, come in a generous portion, and only cost QR 20. I miss their spinach-artichoke dip, which apparently got lost during the latest menu revamp. Maybe I was the only one eating it, haha.

They have one of the best happy hour price lists in the city, and it is pretty consistent and predictable (Sunday to Wednesday, although Zomato says it is every day so maybe that has changed). They have Stella on tap (if you have read my other reviews, you’ll know that this is a dealmaker or dealbreaker for me). Plus, they have maybe eight other beers on tap (including Guiness, Foster’s, Carlsberg, and Spaten). Some of the American macro-brews too, I think, which I suppose are also technically “imports” here, haha. Now that I think about it, this place has one of the largest draft selections in the city.

The ambiance is nice. It’s not fancy at all. It’s more just comfortable. It sits right on the marina, with outdoor seating that is just perfect during the winter. Great view of the water and the boats in the marina. Inside, there are some comfortable “leather” chairs that are super comfy, which is where you’d probably find me if I was there. There is live music most Friday nights, and the place gets absolutely packed. I actually try to avoid it during the weekends because that’s not really my scene, haha.

As an aside, they have the best bar mix in the city that I have found so far. Some places are just popcorn, some are just almonds, etc. This is truly a top-shelf bar mix. Rice flour covered peanuts of several flavors, smoked and regular toasted almonds, SHELLED pistachios, cashews, peanuts, and plantain chips. I don’t know what it says about me that I feel qualified to speak on the subject of bar mixes, but it is what it is.

Again, I love this place. I hope no one reads this review because this place is my “Cheers.” Don’t all you guys start coming and make them too busy to take good care of me, OK?

RATED: 5/5

Admiral's Club - The Ritz-Carlton Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

