Review: Sawa @ Marsa Malaz Kempinski (Pearl-Qatar, Doha)

Sawa makes a good brunch. I went just before Christmas, when they were offering an experience in the price range of QR220. I see now that they have upped the price and are now offering special beverages for an additional premium. I haven’t been back to see whether anything has changed, but I can say that when I went I was quite pleased.

There is nothing in particular about this brunch that sets it apart from other brunches I have been to in Doha. In fact, the offerings were a little more limited than I am used to, but I’m hoping that was because the price point was lower at the time, and that they have increased their offerings commensurate with the price increase.

That being said, what they did put out was all very well prepared. There wasn’t a single dish that made me go “meh.” And I’m the kind of guy that takes a bite-sized serving of pretty much everything my first time through the brunch, then goes back for my favorites.

The carving station was particularly good, although I was disappointed that there weren’t proper Sunday Roast fixings. That’s a litmus test for me as far as brunches go. I asked for Yorkshire pudding on my comment card, so somebody let me know if they started making Yorkshire pudding. Give me some puds and some brown gravy, and I can cobble together a Sunday Roast from anything else. But those two things are non-negotiable, haha.

Seriously though, it was really good. And sitting out by the water with a great view of the water was truly a pleasant experience. I recommend this place. Even if they don’t make the Yorkshire puddings I requested.

Did I mention that I like Yorkshire pudding?

RATED: 4.5/5

Sawa - Marsa Malaz Kempinski Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

