Review: Carluccio’s @ Porto Arabia (Pearl-Qatar, Doha)

Overall, this appears to be a solid Italian restaurant. I realize it is a chain from the UK (or so I have been told), but it honestly has one of the best pizzas I have eaten in Doha. I haven’t tried the other dishes, although the pasta dishes some of my companions ordered all looked quite tasty.

In my opinion, pizza here in Doha is generally unremarkable. The crust is too soft and bready, or the mushrooms are canned, or something else makes me feel like I’m eating gas station pizza. It has almost put me off pizza entirely.

The pizzas we ordered here were different. The crust was not as crispy as I would have liked, but it was clearly a CRUST, and not just an undercooked flatbread. The mozzarella and the toppings were all fresh and rustic. I asked for pepper oil, which really rounded out the flavor profile for me. It was a little taste of what I had taken for granted back home.

Overall, recommended for pizza. Vicariously, recommended for pasta.

RATED: 4/5

Carluccio's Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

