Review: Wagamama @ Lagoona Mall (Westbay-Lagoon, Doha)

Everyone I know seems to go buck wild for Wagamama. I don’t get it, but then again I don’t get why Applebees, Chili’s, TGI Friday, and IHOP are all so well-received here.

I have eaten at Wagamama a couple of times, and the food was decent. Nothing to write home about, but I also wasn’t insulted by the experience. However, once I started exploring the rich culinary offerings in more obscure parts of Doha, for the same or better price point, I never went back.

All in all, Wagamama delivers what it promises. I think it is a little pricey for what you get, but it is solid mall food. I guess I am just not into mall food.

To be fair, I am a special character. Your mileage may vary. I am not a foodie in the sense that I seek out trendy new experiences simply because they are trendy. At the same time, I also avoid predictable, prepackaged corporate experiences.

I am cost-conscious, and I prefer to eat at hole-in-the-walls rather than five-star hotels. I also avoid chains. When I dine, I seek authenticity. I prefer sole proprietorships, small restaurants where you can taste the effort. Corporate dining turns me off.

Ultimately, I guess that is what I feel dining at places like Wagamama and Noodle House. Or the aforementioned U.S. chains. It is why I will never happily go to an IHOP or a Nando’s here (but if one of you guys open a Waffle House though, that’s another story). To me, it is all a generic corporate dining experience.

If I just want to get full, I will cook at home. I need something else to draw me out, and Wagamama does not have it.

RATED: 3.5/5

Wagamama Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

