Review: Harry Ramsden’s @ Medina Centrale (Pearl-Qatar, Doha)

I loved my experience here. I was a bit hesitant to visit because of the mixed reviews I had seen about the place. But when I had a visitor who wanted to try an “authentic” fish and chips experience, I suggested this place and we decided to give it a shot.

We were not disappointed. The batter was almost tempura-like, light and not very greasy. The fries were fresh, crisp on the outside and starchy on the inside. The mushy peas were exactly like what I had experienced in Ireland and the UK. And the curry sauce reminded me of my first chicken curry half and half experience. Plus, the Sarson’s malt vinegar was exactly the same brand I had cut my teeth on when I went to my first chip shop. I think I had more fun than they did, haha.

Yes, it was a bit spendy (like QR75), but then again we were eating in the Pearl. That’s just an assumption of the experience. And honestly, it wasn’t THAT much more than I’d pay for something similar in Ireland or the UK. The premium was reasonable.

Yes, the service was slow. But it was courteous. It was only slow because it took a fair amount of time for our orders to come out. And yes, the shop wasn’t busy at all. That being said, it was cooked to order. It was absolutely hot and fresh out of the fryer when we got it. Sometimes you have to wait for things like that. I would rather wait than quickly get some cold fish and pasty fries. Err, chips.

Yes, you should dine in. I wouldn’t wait for it to be delivered because it will get soggy. But that is true of chip shops in general. If you order in, you should expect to lose that crispness.

In terms of flavor, it was as good as any chip shop I ate at in the UK. And better than some. Recommended.

RATED: 4.5/5

Harry Ramsden’s Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

