Review: Spice Market @ W Doha Hotel (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I have enjoyed every one of my experiences at Spice Market. I have been for happy hour, for dinner, and for the brunch.

The food here is exceptional. It is largely non-traditional, but the expert chefs here manage to pull it off and create a truly memorable and distinctive experience. I have yet to have a dish here that I did not appreciate on some level.

The brunch experience here was an incredible amount of fun, and I truly enjoyed every dish (well, almost every dish) that I tasted. The sushi was the real standout for me. I ate several plates. The selection and the quality were really inspiring, and worth the price of admission.

The pad thai and the duck roll/dim sum stations were my next favorite. I’m a sucker for the pad thai here, in part because it tastes more like pad see ew or pad kee mao with the darker, spicier gravy flavor.

The desserts were not as impressive as the rest of the buffet offerings, but since I don’t care at all about desserts, that did not have any impact on my experience.

The band that picks up the last part of the brunch really rounded out the experience. The image of at least a hundred people chanting the lyrics to Hotel California will forever be etched in my mind.

The “special beverages” here were truly special. Kumquat mojitos, ginger margaritas, and sour cherries caipirinha were all delicious, and flowed quite freely.

My only disappointment was the lack of a tap for beer. As anyone who has read my other reviews is aware, this is a litmus test for me. Bottles are so lowbrow, no matter what part of the world they come from. For those of you who don’t care, this should not affect your opinion. But for me, it is the difference between a haunt and an isolated experience. Stella on tap, please.

Overall, recommended. Especially for brunch.

RATED: 4.5/5

Spice Market - W Doha Hotel Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

