Review: Lamazani Restaurant (Al Gharafa, Doha)

I LOVE this place. The service is not good at all, haha, you eat off of steel trays, and yet, I totally love this place. If you are looking for some soul in your food, this is the place to go.

I first ate Lamazani skewers off a grill on the beach at Sealine, with a bunch of my new teacher friends. They were understandably delicious, in part because it was late night on the beach. But the guys who got them were talking about how this place was their go-to for beach skewers. I HAD TO KNOW where they came from. As I do. They slurred the name for me, and gave me some vague directions near the swords crossing Bank Street. I didn’t have a pen, so I tried my best to remember.

I failed. For the longest time, I couldn’t find this place. And believe you me, I looked. I scoured the internet for information, and couldn’t figure out where the heck they were talking about.

Finally, I found this location, and took a chance. It turned out to be the right company, but in the wrong location. I eventually found the place they were talking about one night after I left the MRA closest to Souq Waqif. The one they were talking about is right on that corner. But it was too late. In the meantime, this place had won my heart.

It’s right next to a strip mall of souq shops and shawarma shops just off the Doha Expressway. If you go at the wrong time, this place is a parking lot. If you go at the right time, no problem. Either way, it’s just a matter of time. You’ll get a parking spot. You just have to be patient.

A lot of reviews complain about the parking or construction around a particular place. For me, I don’t care. If you go, you’ll get a spot. You only need one, and eventually someone leaves at the right place and at the right time. Don’t be a wimp, haha. Be a winner.

Generally, I have not had an issue with parking here. I’ve gotten spaces pretty close to the entrance. When I’ve had to walk, all that happened was that I had to make mental notes of places I NEED to eat sometime, but have still not yet made time for. When I come here, I come for Lamazani.

This location is preferable to the location near Souq Waqif if you want to dine in. It is way bigger. And I ALWAYS want to dine in. If I wanted to order in, I’d just as soon make my own food.

The place is pretty big, with a substantial amount of seating on the second floor. Like I said, the service is not attentive. But again, I don’t care. I get up and walk over to the server and tell him what I want. I tick off the boxes on the order sheet with him. And he’s not offended. No worries.

Not a lot on the menu, so it’s easy to order pretty much everything. I’m not into organ meats, so I can’t speak to the hearts or kidneys or whatever. But I can heartily recommend the chicken and lamb skewers. The hummus is awesome, the yogurt dips are awesome, and I recommend getting one or both to round out whatever skewer sandwiches you end up making.

I always get some onion and tomato skewers because hey, those are crucial accompaniments to my skewer sandwiches. Everything comes out on a metal cafeteria tray, and the flatbread covers the skewers to keep everything warm. It’s the best.

I really have to give a shout out to their kofta though. And that’s because kofta is usually so disappointing to me. This is one of the only places where I can honestly say that their kofta is awesome. I gladly add it to my skewer sandwiches. I don’t know what makes it different from most other places, all I can tell you is that I’m picky, and this place rings my bells.

Like I said, this isn’t the place for handholding service. I’ve never had that. But if you don’t care, if you have the self confidence to stand up and get what you need, without apology or grudges, then this place is going to rock your socks off.

RATED: 4.5/5

Lamazani Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

