Review: Thai Smile (Umm Ghuwailina, Doha)

Thai Smile is not my favorite Thai place in the city, but it is the first place I tried out, and it is the place I come to the most. Why? Because it provides the best accessibility and the best consistent overall experience.

I first came to this restaurant because I had several friends (many of whom had grown up in the city) tell me about it when I asked about Thai food. I brought one of my dining partners out, and he was so taken by the place that it has become one of his regular requests for our weekly excursions.

We have eaten many of the items on the menu, from the more predictable items to the whole fried fish in mango and fish sauce. Everything we have tried has been well-prepared and satisfying.

My personal favorite is the som tum (green papaya salad), which is one of the litmus tests I have for Thai restaurants. We also tend to order the eggrolls (another litmus test) and the chicken wings, and have always be pleased.

I have also tried the pad thai, the pad woon sen, the pad kee mao, and the pad see ew (other litmus tests for me). Each has been good, although with the pad woon sen, pad see ew, and pad kee mao, I was expecting wide noodles, and not the narrow noodles I would normally expect to accompany pad thai. Mouth feel was diminished, but the flavor was good.

To wash it all down, I can attest to the fact that the thai iced coffee and the thai iced tea are both as good as expected. My dining pal can attest to the fact that the blended juices are just as tasty.

Overall, this is not the best Thai in the city. That being said, we come here more than any other, because of the intersection between value, flavor, and location. Do with that information what you will.

RATED: 4.5/5

Thai Smile Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

