Review: Trader Vic’s @ Hilton (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I have been to Trader Vic’s a couple of times. I know a lot of people like it here. I don’t mind it, but I’m not super excited about it.

This seems like a place to come more for the drinks than the food. I ordered the pupu platter, and the food was decent, but it was heavy and greasy. It left me feeling kind of big and bloated and gross. Not the sort of base I’m looking for when I go out for special beverages. Maybe the next day when I’m recovering, haha, but not that night. Now that I think about it, it would be pretty good “day after” comfort food.

This is also definitely more of a cocktail place rather than a beer place. It’s all bottles. I hate bottles. It really rubs my nose in how ripped off I am getting when I order bottles, because then I’m thinking “well a six-pack back home is almost half of what they are trying to charge me for this one bottle.” I need a 500cl glass to obscure my indignation, haha.

Plus, draft just tastes better. I’ve said it in previous reviews, and I’ll say it again. Beer is not a plebian beverage, but it can be made into one. Bottles are low-brow. Not everyone wants hard liquor, not everyone likes wine, and not everyone is looking for an umbrella sticking out of a fish bowl. Some of us just crave a proper pint. There isn’t one here.

That being said, the inside decor is delightfully eclectic. It reminds me a bit of my times in Hawaii, as I am sure it should. And the patio outside is just awesome when the weather is nice. In terms of location and ambiance, I’d give this place high marks. In terms of food, this place is average at best (at least based on what I’ve tried). In terms of beverage, I’d also give it average marks, but that’s only because it doesn’t care about beer connoisseurs like me, haha.

Not a place to avoid, but not a place I seek out either. (Kinda) recommended.

RATED: 3.5/5

Trader Vic's - Hilton Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

