Review: The Irish Harp @ Sheraton Grand Hotel (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I have had good experiences at the Irish Harp. Nothing spectacular, but overall pleasant.

From what I gather, I would have appreciated the old Irish Harp more than I appreciate the new renovation. The new version seems more like a slick sports bar than an old-school Irish pub. That being said, they do have a decent selection of draft brews, which if you have read any of my other reviews is always a +1.

I have been several times, both during busy weekend evenings and during early weekday evenings. Personally, I preferred the less busy times to the more busy times, but that may just be my personal inclinations. Plus, those times are obviously less profitable than the weekend nights, haha. But I tend to avoid places when everyone else wants to visit. I feel like weekends are the time to cook at home, haha.

That being said, even during the busy times I found something to enjoy about this place. They have live music on the weekends. and the band plays both Irish standards as well as broader Western covers.

They do have a QR100 membership requirement, which screens out the casual visitors. As such, there is plenty of eye candy, although not necessarily as high maintenance as many of the other night spots in the city. However, that’s not a priority for me. Because when it is loud, I am unlikely to be able to attract anything more than another beverage (at best), haha.

When I was here on an early weekday, the place was barren. Honestly, that was far more pleasant. I got a lot more work done, and I was able to order some fish and chips. The quality was decent, but definitely not worth the price. I wanted to try the other traditional dishes, but the high price really put me off. I waited until I went to Ireland and then I went buck wild, haha.

This all being said, when I meet semi-partying people in other venues in the city, they invariably invite me to come hang out with them at the Irish Harp. I almost always decline, but the fact remains that lots of people find this to be a destination.

Depending on what sort of person you are, you may find this to be a destination too. Don’t let me dissuade you. It’s not bad at all.

RATED: 4.0

The Irish Harp - Sheraton Grand Doha Resort and Convention Hotel Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

