Review: Strata @ InterContinental The City Hotel (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

Location, location, location. I’ve been to Strata a few times, and this place provides one of my favorite views of the city, hands-down. The happy hour runs from 6-8pm daily, providing a two for one special on drinks. They have Carlsberg on tap, which if you know me is a +1 because so many places only have bottles. There are several other bottle selections as well, but I avoid them when I can.

Uncharacteristically for me, I have actually tended towards cocktails here. My favorite is the old-fashioned, but maybe that’s because I’ve been going through a “Mad Men” phase, haha. I can also vouch for the mojitos, whisky sours, and the pina coladas.

The food here is pretty good too, although overall a little on the pricey side. But then again, it’s more of a place for drinks than for food. My favorite so far has to be the Wagyu sliders, in part because of the novel toppings. Caramelized carrots, blue cheese, and slaw. That’s not something I come across every day. I’ve also had the group sushi platter. Once. It wasn’t bad, but I have definitely had better. I haven’t ordered it again. I think there are better options on the menu.

Overall, this is a cool place to go for happy hour. By the time the HH is over, this place is usually bumping pretty hard. Plenty of opportunities to make new friends, if you are the mingling type. I’m not really into big crowds, so I usually come early. Plus, that provides the opportunity to see the city during the day, and to watch the lights twinkle on as dusk transitions into night.

It is definitely the view that brings me back, and it’s something I try to share with everyone who comes to visit me. You should check it out.

RATED: 4/5

Strata - InterContinental The City Hotel Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment