Review: La Dolce Vita (Souq Waqif, Doha)

I came here to meet a friend for lunch, at her suggestion. It is tucked away into a back alley of the souq, just off to the left side of the main “street.” I think it’s right past the art center. I had never seen it before, or any of the other two or three restaurants tucked into the same corner.

The starter bread selection was pretty good. Appreciated the variety of options. I’m always a sucker for homemade twisted crunchy breadsticks, haha. The olive oil was exceptional. Obviously a finishing oil, and not the kind meant for cooking. It made me eat more bread that I was planning to, haha.

I had the house special lasagna, and she had a seafood risotto dish. The lasagna was really good, the noodles were soft and there was a crust on the edge from the pan. That’s my favorite part of a slice of lasagna, and I wish someone would invent a pan to provide that crust on every side of every piece, haha. I had a bite of the risotto as well, and it was well prepared. Al dente, but not hard in the middle.

We had cappuccinos after the meal, and the espresso was excellent. As I suppose you would expect from an Italian restaurant, haha. I might be persuaded to come back here just for the coffee.

And yet for some reason, I haven’t been back. It’s not because I didn’t have a good experience. I absolutely did. It just seems off for me to come to the souq to eat Italian food. Or any other cuisine that isn’t regional. It’s like I never even think about it.

I need to get over that. This place was delicious. You should check it out.

RATED: 4/5

La Dolce Vita Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

