Review: Jasmine Thai Restaurant (Souq Waqif, Doha)

I have been to Jasmine Thai several times. It was one of the first Thai restaurants I had heard about, and it came well-recommended from multiple people. It was not the first Thai restaurant I went to. But when I got around to trying it, I was quite pleased. And any time a dining companion suggests it, I do not steer them elsewhere.

It is tucked off to the side of the souq, near one of the side entrances. You actually have to go up some stairs to get in, so it feels a bit like you are discovering one of the dirty little secrets of the souq, haha.

I have had a decent survey of the menu over the course of my visits: Gai Satay, Tom Kha Gai, Som Tam (of course), yellow and green curries, Jasmine Rice, Pad Thai, Pad See Ew, and Pad Kee Mao. Everything I have eaten here has tasted as authentic as it comes. Sometimes the dishes are a little on the spicy side, but I like that. If you don’t, you should definitely say something when you order.

I have nothing but praise for the quality of the food here. That being said, I did feel like the price to volume ratio was a little high, especially compared to other Thai places in the city.

Yes, it IS good. Yes, it IS authentic-tasting. But so are many of the other Thai places in the city, for a fraction of the price. I find myself wondering if maybe they can charge more for location, because some of the patrons haven’t ventured far off the beaten path in order to explore the older parts of the city. In that sense, Jasmine Thai is SAFE.

There is a buffet here for QR111 from 6-10 pm on Tuesdays, but I have not yet had a chance to make it out. I can easily spend that much for an a la carte experience here, so it’s worth giving it a shot. That being said, I can fill a table with food for that price at other venues in the city, and take home what I don’t eat.

Don’t get me wrong. I really have enjoyed my experiences at Jasmine Thai. And yet for some reason I do not come here often. When it’s time for Thai, I always end up elsewhere.

It is not because I didn’t have a good experience. I absolutely did. It just seems off for me to come to the souq to eat Thai food. Or any other cuisine that isn’t regional. It’s like I never even think about it.

I need to get over that. This place was delicious. A little spendy for what you get, but delicious nonetheless. You should check it out.

RATED: 4/5

Jasmine Thai Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

