Review: Zaatar W Zeit (Souq Waqif, Doha)

I am confused about my feelings for ZwZ. Personally, I was not impressed. Normally, I probably wouldn’t go back. And usually, I am pretty secure in my perceptions.

However, after reading the Zomato and Tripadvisor reviews for ZwZ, I wonder if I missed something. Many people are huge fans of this spot. At the very least, it means I need to go back and reconsider.

To be fair, I have only been here once, and only to this location. But I thought it was unfulfilling. My companion and I ordered a survey off the menu. It wasn’t BAD. It just wasn’t memorable.

We both kind of felt like we had wasted an evening out, when surely there were more authentic and satisfying experiences available in the souq.

So then I read these reviews, and everyone is going buck wild over this place. It’s so great, it’s the best place ever. So I had to think about it, and let it percolate, and try to figure out why I didn’t feel the same way.

One of the Zomato reviewers below astutely remarked that, “[t]hey’re essentially a Lebanese Starbucks for manakeesh.” This makes sense. I think he is exactly right.

And I think THAT may be why I didn’t feel satisfied from the experience. Not because the food was bad, but because I felt like I was going to a Starbucks.

I don’t like Starbucks because I come from the part of the world where Starbucks originated, and I know precisely what Starbucks has successfully co-opted, sanitized, and transformed into a global brand. And Starbucks bums me out.

So I plan to go back to this place to test my theory. I am going to try the “Mighty Kofta” because I see that come up repeatedly in the reviews. Any other suggestions?

Recommended? Not recommended? Not sure. [To be continued.]

RATED: 3.5

Zaatar W Zeit Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

