Review: Champions Sports Bar @ Marriott Marquis Doha (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

Overall, Champions is a pretty cool place. When I was living in the U.S., I tended to avoid sports bars, but here I find them strangely comforting and nostalgic.

Yes, the place is smokey when it gets busy. And yes, there is a smoking section, but it is a total joke because it is not separated by glass or anything. It is really more of a “slightly less smokey” section, haha.

I have tried a survey of the menu, and I can vouch for the burgers and fries. I have also noticed that the fries are surprisingly inexpensive a la carte (QR20), and they make for a very satisfying table snack. I can also vouch for the nachos. They are pretty good.

The complimentary bar snack is popcorn, which I personally find to be kind of cheap. That being said, it does keep with the sports bar theme of the place, and when it is not stale it is pretty satisfying.

I have ordered the sampler platter once. Only once. It was an insultingly expensive disappointment. From it, I have learned that I DO NOT recommend the wings. Where I come from, wings should be deep fried or baked until the skin is crispy, THEN tossed in sauce. Here (as with many places in Doha), the skin is limp, soft, and chewy. That is gross, and I do not recommend it.

They do have beers on tap, which is +1 in my book. Sadly, their happy hour is not THAT much of a deal a compared to their normal prices, so it doesn’t matter that much how early you visit.

Overall, Champions is a decent sports bar (especially for the Middle East). I discovered here that I am into rugby, so I do have a special affection for the place. I rarely choose to come here of my own volition. But if someone suggests a meetup here, I don’t have a problem with it at all. You should check it out.

RATED: 4/5

Champions Sports Bar -  Marriott Marquis Doha Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

