Review: Tandoor Express @ City Center Mall (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I agree with one of the other reviewers here: I don’t know why Tandoor Express is rated so low. No, it’s definitely not the best Indian food in Doha. Yes, it is in a food court at City Center (and it’s the old scary one by the fun center with the bad lighting, not the nice fancy one). The only issue I had with the service was based on the language barrier. If anything, my main complaint would be that it was a bit pricey for being Indian cuisine in a food court.

But the food itself was actually pretty tasty. We ordered a survey of dishes, including Kadai Paneer, Dal Makhani, Aloo Palak, Butter Chicken, garlic rice, and an assortment of the different naan, paratha, roti, and kulcha. Everything tasted great. The Kadai Paneer, Aloo Palak and garlic rice ended up being the standouts for me. I was surprised by how tasty the garlic rice was. The breads were all soft and hot, and at least appeared to be freshly made.

Maybe it is because I didn’t order what the reviewers who gave the low scores had ordered, or maybe it was because I had adjusted my expectations because I was in a food court in City Center Mall. I don’t know. I don’t think it was a five star experience, but I certainly don’t think it was a one star experience either. I wouldn’t make it a destination, but I would absolutely return.

RATED: 3.5

Tandoor Express Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

