Review: Hala Ramadan Tent @ Melia Doha (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I recently attended Suhoor as a guest of Zomato. We sampled the entire menu. The first course consisted of an okra dish, rocket salad, fattoush, roasted eggplant and tomatoes, roasted cauliflower, roasted potatoes, hummus, mutabal, labneh, and olives. The second course consisted of chicken shawarma, kibbeh, meatballs, halloumi, an assortment of sausages, a chickpea dish, falafel, sambosak, foul, and a simple omelet.

For the first course, the roasted cauliflower and the okra stood out for me, followed by the other roasted veggies. Everything else was good as well, although the bread was a bit dry for my liking. For the second course, the falafel, meatballs, and sausages were my favorite. The halloumi was also worth mentioning, as it was less salty than I am used to getting (which I preferred). The shawarma was disappointing. It was more bread than filling, the bread was dry, and there was only a hint of garlic paste smeared on the plate, almost as a decoration. I don’t know about you, but I love garlic paste.

I was less impressed with the dessert offerings. Not a big deal for me, as I am not really a dessert person. I enjoyed the umm ali pudding, although it was a bit on the watery side. The other desserts I tried didn’t really do anything for me.

The service was great, and I really liked the open floorplan, the lighting, and the comfortable couches. There was a huge projection screen playing football, which was great for those of us who wanted to watch the games. There was also a musician who was quite enjoyable, although he was a bit loud at times for conversation purposes. They had shisha as well, although I’m always reluctant to pay QR100 for shisha, so I passed it up.

Overall, I had an enjoyable experience at Melia. Now, I have had better Ramadan tent experiences at a comparable pricepoint, and I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to return here. However, if I had a group of friends who wanted to meet up here, I would not try to steer them elsewhere.

Rated: 3/5

Hala Ramadan Tent - Melia Doha Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

