Review: Al Tazaj Fakieh @ City Center Mall (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I actually thought Al Tazaj Fakieh was pretty good. And wow is it affordable! It took me a while to work up the courage to come here. It looked a little run-down, its logo and color scheme seemed washed out and dated, and it was tucked away in the corner of the scary food court with the bad lighting by the Fun Center. But I’m glad I did.

They don’t offer a lot of choices, pretty much just chicken and kofta. I’m picky when it comes to kofta, so I thought it would be more fair to go with the Bar-BQ chicken. The bread was a little dry for my taste, but the garlic paste was good and the chicken was moist and flavorful.

I get the impression that this is the sort of place where different people will have different experiences depending on how fresh the food is. My bread was dry, but the chicken was not. If I had come at another time, maybe I would have gotten fresh bread but my chicken would have been overdone. It all depends on how long it has been roasting. I’ll have to go back and check my hypothesis another time.

The service was fine. A bit of a language barrier, but they got my order right. Good enough for me.

Overall, I think that this food court needs to be completely renovated. I also think Al Tazaj Fakieh could benefit from hiring a brand consultant to improve their curb appeal with customers. But once you get past that, their chicken is pretty good, and it provides more value for the money than most other outlets in the mall.

I’ll be back. I recommend checking it out. I also saw some other interesting outlets around the corner from the scary food court, right across from the fun center. Now that Al Tazaj Fakieh has bolstered my courage, perhaps I’ll be checking those out as well.

RATED: 4/5

Al Tazaj Fakieh Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

