Review: Diwaniyat Al Boukhari @ City Center Mall (Westbay-Dafna, Doha)

I have a soft spot in my heart for Diwaniyat Al Boukhari. It is one of the first places I tried when I moved to Doha, and I came here many times before I found Zomato and started branching out into the city. This was where I ate my first shawarma…and second…and third… I have also tried the bukhari with barbecue chicken and with shawarma meat.

Now that I’ve been around town more, I realize that there are better shawarmas out there. At the time, I was mesmerized. They aren’t bad at all. They are actually quite satisfying. But I did find that they sat heavier in the stomach than some of the other shawarmas I have eaten. I really like their pickled vegetables and their garlic paste.

The bukhari and barbecue chicken was good. That being said, I noticed that the quality varied each time I ordered. Sometimes the chicken was moist, sometimes it was dry. Same experience with the rice. It probably had to do with turnover, because when it was busier the food was fresher (go figure).

The fresh mango juice was good, but as with most juices I have had in Doha it was a little sweet for my taste. I wish restaurants would ask if you want sugar in your juice, because I never do and I always seem to get it. I’m so paranoid about sugar now that even if it was just great fruit I’d probably assume someone spiked it with sugar.

The service here has always been good for me, although I agree with another reviewer that the crowd around the front can get confusing. There was never really a clear line to the register, so I just had to drift toward the front. Most times it wasn’t a big deal because the manager was standing in front of the counter and would seek out people who hadn’t ordered yet and then relay the order to the cashier.

Diwaniyat Al Boukhari is in the nicer of the two food courts in City Center, which makes the dining experience more pleasant than the scary food court by the fun center. Overall, the prices are reasonable. Not too cheap, but not as expensive as a regular restaurant.

Like I said, I have a soft spot in my heart for Diwaniyat Al Boukhari. It was my first. And as they say: you never forget your first. I had good experiences here. It wasn’t the best, but it was pretty darned good, and it provided decent value for the money. I’d say it’s worth checking out.

RATED: 4/5

Diwaniyat Al Boukhari Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

